Friday, April 11, 2014

Special Honourees Recognized at CLS Sacred Convocation

On May 30, CLS will recognize two unique servant leaders.

The Rev. Hans-Jörg Voigt, International Lutheran Council Chairman and Bishop of the Independent Evangelical Lutheran Church of Germany (SELK), is receiving the Doctor of Divinity degree, Honorus Causa.  This is based upon his reputation as a quiet, humble servant of Christ and courageous Christian leader and advocate for biblical values in a more open culture.  An honourary degree recognizes the significant contribution of a committed practitioner and brother in Christ. (See The Canadian Lutheran Online article
LCC servant leader Rev. Larry MacKay (Grace, Edmonton) will also be receiving the Doulos dia Iesoun award, reserved for “veterans of the cross”:  pastors with a minimum of 30 years of faithful and distinguished service in the ministry.  The name of this award is connected to the seminary’s motto, which is drawn from Paul’s words in 2 Corinthians 4:5, “We do not preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake (heautous de doulous dia Iesoun).”  Fitting candidates for this award are pastors who, by long and selfless service to Christ and His people, exemplify the pastoral office.

We are thankful for the partnership with each of these pastors and our opportunity to provide encouragement and support through the bestowing of these awards.

All are invited to attend the 30th Academic Year Sacred Convocation on May 30th at 7:00 pm at the Tegler Centre, (Concordia University College of Alberta, 7128 Ada Blvd, Edmonton).  Along with the presentation of these two awards, three vicars, Cody Cooper; Keith Hoveland; and Eric Moffett,  will receive assignments and colloquy candidate, Rev. Alvin Oberhammer, will receive a Theological Diploma.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Concordia Lutheran Seminary 7040 Ada Blvd, Edmonton, Alberta, T5B 4E3 HOME CONTACT